Author Interview: Heather Wardell

Biography

Growing up, I was an avid (rabid?) reader. I am a natural speed reader, regularly clocked at about 1200 wpm (I read Harry Potter 5 in just under three hours), and always have several books on the go, nearly all in e-book form on my iPhone.
I have always made up stories in my head, but never considered becoming a writer. Instead, I intended to be a high school music teacher. I was sidetracked by my enjoyment of my psychology courses in university, and ended up with a psychology degree with a concentration in computer science.
This took me to a major Canadian bank as a software developer. I stayed there for just over four years, and then went back to school to become an elementary school teacher. After four years teaching elementary school computer science, I took up the National Novel Writing Month challenge and attempted to write a novel in a month.
I succeeded, and the first draft of "Life, Love, and a Polar Bear Tattoo" was the result. I realized I love writing. I left teaching, and I haven't looked back since!
In my non-writing time, I read, run, swim, crochet (I am on Ravelry and would be happy to add you as a friend!), take care of my 55 gallon aquarium and my cat Sapphire, and play clarinet. Generally not all at once.

This picture shows me wearing a sweater I crocheted and holding the finishers' medal I received at my second half marathon, May 13/08.


You can find my review of Life, Love and a Polar Bear Tattoo here.  Please look for reviews of Go Small or Go Home and Stir Until Thoroughly Confused very soon!  Also, check out her books on her website each book is only $0.99 - WHAT A GREAT DEAL!
What is your favorite thing to eat for breakfast?
 
Cereal. Nearly any kind, although not the wildly sugary ones because I
feel sick later. I also sometimes (like today!) eat it for lunch too.


Night owl, or early bird?
 
Early bird by a long shot. I start to fade around 10pm.

Where is your favorite place to read/write?
 
To read is probably in the bathtub. 🙂 To write is any Starbucks
location. I don't know why, maybe there's something in the air, but
all my best scenes have happened at a Starbucks!


What are your other hobbies?
 
I run half-marathons and shorter races, crochet, play video games,
play clarinet, and last year I started taking drum lessons and now
play with the concert band where I used to play clarinet.


What was your favorite book when you were a child/teen?
 
I most vividly remember reading Orson Scott Card's "Ender's Game" when
I was about seventeen and just being stunned by it.

How much of your actual life gets written into your fictional stories?

The big plot elements are nearly all fiction. The smaller things are
frequently from my life. A few of my real-life events that have made
it into books: hanging wallpaper that refused to hang, wiping out on a
sidewalk and ripping up my cheek and knee, and flying with an ear
infection. (If you're thinking I'm a bit clumsy on occasion, you'd be
right. 🙂


What books are on your nightstand right now?
 
None! But don't be shocked... that's because they're all in my iPhone
and it's right beside me. I keep my to-be-read list at Goodreads
(
www.goodreads.com/heatherwardell), and you can see there that I
hardly ever read in paper any more. I just so prefer the convenience
and freedom of electronic reading.


What's the most interesting comment you have ever received about your books?
 
That would have to be the argument I had with my sister over whether a
certain character would actually do what I'd implied in the book he
did. She was adamant that he never would, and I kept thinking, "You
know he's not real, right?" But she almost didn't, and I loved that
because it meant I'd brought him to life.


What is your favorite flavor of ice cream?
 
I much prefer a piece of dark chocolate over ice cream, but I have
never said no to cookies and cream ice cream. 🙂


Who is your favorite fictional character?
 
Of my own characters, I think it's Forrest Williams, the hockey player
from "Go Small or Go Home". From other books, I loved (even when she
frustrated me) Rachel from Marian Keyes' "Rachel's Holiday". A drug
addict might not seem a likely candidate to be a favorite, but she was
just so REAL!


If you could tell my readers anything, what would it be?
 
I didn't know until I began putting my books out there just how
wonderful an author feels when a reader sends a "I loved your book"
note. If you like something and feel like telling the author, go for
it. It makes my day every time!

Leave a comment

Filed under author interview, book review

Leave a Reply

