Review: Overprotected

Overprotected

Product Details

  • Pub. Date: April 2011
  • Publisher: Grove Creek Publishing
  • Format: Paperback , 252pp
  • Sales Rank: 418,072
  • Age Range: Young Adult

Synopsis

Ashlyn: A lonely society princess living in New York City.
Daddy hired you to be my bodyguard.
Colin: Childhood enemy, now her protector.
Daddy thought I’d be safe. He thought I’d never fall in love. He thought he could keep me forever.
Charles: obsessed with keeping her safe, keeping her his, he hires the one person he knows she could never fall in love with: Colin.
Daddy was wrong.

My Thoughts

I loved this book from the first chapter.  It grabbed my attention and held it through the very last page.  Ashlyn was kidnapped by her father’s employee when she was a young child.  After she was recovered, they moved to New York City and she has been on “lock-down” ever sense.  She can’t go anywhere without a bodyguard.  She is now 17 years old and she is going crazy with the lock up.  Ashlyn has figured out that she has a period of time that she can sneak out of the house and get some alone time.  One day she is running late returning home when she suddenly sees someone from her past, Colin, the boy next door who was horribly mean to her growing up.  Wow, has he grown up.  She has to rush off because she is late.  Upon arriving home, her current bodyguard, Stuart, is very upset with her.  He has always given her the creeps and is infatuated with her.  Ashlyn is ready to be ride of him and now has a way since he gets a little physical with her.  Daddy fires Stuart and hires the last person he would ever guess his daughter would ever get along with, her enemy, Colin.  Little does he know that they have both changes and Ashlyn quickly discovers she has some feelings for Colin.  What craziness with transpire in their lives?

Jennifer Laurens has a wonderful writing style, she pulls you into the story and hooks you so just can’t wait to see what is going to happen on the next page.  All of the charters in this books are well defined – not only is who they are but their personalties and weaknesses.  This is one area that I find a lot of books lack – weakness – it really helps me understand the characters better when I have a full picture of who they are.  I have never been to New York City, so I was very pleased with the level of description on the environment and what was going on in these places.  All I have to say is VERY WELL DONE!

My favorite character in this books was Ashlyn – she has such a diverse personality and she faces such crazy situations yet they all seem to make her stronger.  I wanted for the book to go on – I want to know what happens with Colin and Ashyn from here!  I really hope that I get this in the future!

My Rating

I loved this book and give it 4.5 of 5 stars.  I would highly recommend this book for teens and anyone who is just looking for a good solid review.  Jennifer Laurens has done an amazing job with this story – she keeps putting out great book after great book!  Thank you!
*  I won this book from the author.  All opinions are my own and I received no compensation other than a copy of the book to review.


1 Comment

Filed under 4.5 stars, book review, Books

One response to “Review: Overprotected

  1. Boy, this does sound like a good book! Reminds me of the movie “First Daughter” and I really liked that movie so I'm sure I would love this book! Thanks for sharing!

    BornajhawkATaolDOTcom

Leave a comment