Booking Through Thursday

btt button
In a related question to last week’s–
I was reading the other day a quote from JFK Jr who said on the death of his mother, that she died surrounded by family, friends, and her books. Apparently, Jackie’s books were very much a part of HER, her personality, her sense of self.
Up until recently, people could browse your bookshelves and learn a lot about you–what your interests are, your range of topics, favorite authors, how much you read (or at least buy books).
More and more, though, this is changing. People aren’t buying books so much as borrowing them from the library. Or reading them on their e-readers or computers. There’s nothing PHYSICAL on the shelves to tell strangers in your home, for better or worse, who you ARE.
Do you think this is a good thing? Bad? Discuss!
This is a tough question.  I don’t know if it is good or bad or just a changing in times that we are adjusting too.  I still have a lot of books so anyone coming into my home would know that not only myself but my husband are HUGE readers.  Do we read different genres sometimes but not always there are a lot of series that we both read.  I don’t think I like the idea of being judged by the books on my shelf, I read what I like and that is just it. I think that really you can still browse my books – I have hundreds.  
3 Comments

Filed under Booking Through Thursday, Books

3 responses to “Booking Through Thursday

  1. Bookshelves are like ambience to me, and they also show bits and pieces of my personality. I have a wide variety of books, so I can't be easily summed up…LOL

    Here's MY BTT2 POST

  2. I agree about not liking being judged on your shelves. Although books are a huge part of my life I think there is more to my personality than my taste in books.
    Sally.
    http://theelifylop.blogspot.com/2011/04/booking-through-thursday-13.html

  3. I still prefer the actual book.

    Stop and see mine and my giveaways.

Leave a Reply

