Booking Through Thursday!

btt button
And–the reverse of last week’s question. Name one book that you hope never, ever, ever gets made into a movie (no matter how good that movie might be).


This is really most books for me.  I am not usually a fan of books turned movies.  99% of the time I am so disappointed that it was not worth my money to see the movie.  For the most part, I have stopped seeing movies in the theather if they are based on a book, I will wait for DVD so at least I dont feel like I spent too much money on something I didn’t feel it was worth it.

What about you  – I would love to know your opinion! 
10 Comments

Filed under Booking Through Thursday, Books

10 responses to “Booking Through Thursday!

  1. I am the same. I tend to wait to see what my friends say about the film first. I trust their opinion most of the time.

  2. FBT

    I agree with you (the only film that I think was better than the book was The Color Purple), and I always wind up seeing the film and being disappointed.

    Here's my answer http://killmeifistop.blogspot.com/2011/05/btt-not-in-theatres.html

  3. That's interesting. I'm just the opposite. I've always had a hard time visualizing characters in my mind, so I really love it when books get turned into movies. Even if I end up not liking the movie, it doesn't ruin the book for me.

  4. I'm with you! I don't like my own visualizations ruined by a movie! It has to be a very special book-to-movie for me to be able to enjoy it!

    Here's my answer:
    http://abookishaffair.blogspot.com/2011/05/booking-through-thursday.html

  5. I love books and films so together they are like pb&j. Tasty..lol

  6. I agree as most are not great adaptations. Sometimes it is nice to have things put into visual terms and see if they are anything like you imagined while reading. But others just shouldn't mess with a good thing!

  7. I'm not a huge fan of them either, I get really nervous about the quality.

    Here's mine:
    http://carabosseslibrary.blogspot.com/2011/05/booking-through-thursday.html

  8. I agree! Although I'm actually probably more likely to see a bad book thats been turned in to a movie because at least I know where to set my expectations! When great books are turned in to bad movies, it's often just too depressing.

    Here's my answer:

    http://wereadtoknow.wordpress.com/2011/05/05/btt-not-coming-to-a-theatre-near-you/

  9. I find for me it's better to watch the movie first and then read the book – if I can hold off on reading the book that is. Less disappointment that way.
    Sally.
    http://theelifylop.blogspot.com/2011/05/booking-through-thursday-16.html

Leave a Reply

