Review: Dead Reckoning by Charlaine Harris

Dead Reckoning (Sookie Stackhouse, Book 11)

Overview – 

Dead Reckoning (Sookie Stackhouse / Southern Vampire Series #11)

Product Details

  • Pub. Date: May 2011
  • Publisher: Penguin Group (USA)
  • Format: Hardcover , 336pp
  • Sales Rank: 4

Synopsis

New in the #1 New York Times bestselling Sookie Stackhouse series-the basis for HBO(r)’s True Blood!
With her knack for being in trouble’s way, Sookie witnesses the firebombing of Merlotte’s, the bar where she works. Since Sam Merlotte is now known to be two-natured, suspicion falls immediately on the anti-shifters in the area. Sookie suspects otherwise, but her attention is divided when she realizes that her lover Eric Northman and his “child” Pam are plotting to kill the vampire who is now their master. Gradually, Sookie is drawn into the plot-which is much more complicated than she knows…

My Thoughts

I have been a long time fan of this series long before the HBO series came out a few years ago.  I am probably one of the few people who really enjoys the books more than the TV show.  I just have some major problems with who some of the characters are in the TV show.  But back to the most recent book.  It starts out with a very strong being – really a firebombing at Merlotte’s.  Ms. Harris does a wonderful job at laying out this event.  It is laid out so well that it played like a movie scene for me.  From this point however, it took me a while to really get into the story which is very unlike this series.  I was pleased with the action scenes in this book right from the beginning.
I love Sookie and Eric together but this book was a bit odd with their story line.  There were many times that Eric should have been with Sookie and he just wasn’t.  There was no ideas as to what was more important that her.  It just made for a very frustrating story being left out of what was going on with Eric.  Sookie was also a bit more frustrating in this book.  She was suddenly scared of things that she had come to terms with in previous books.  I don’t know she suddenly seemed a bit weak to me which I have not questioned in a really long time.  I have come to love and expected a very strong woman and I felt a bit let down with this.
As always, there are vampire politics.  I have the hardest time with this aspect of the stories.  I don’t know if it is I can’t kept track of all the rules and such or if I just get irritated with them!  Pam and Eric are at odds in this book and Pam let’s Sookie in on a secret that Eric was not ready to share and it is gong to have a major effect on their future together.  That is all I am going to say.  There is also Eric and Victor’s issues at hand.  Major drama here!

Beyond vampire issues, there is a lot of foreshadowing to Faerie drama as well.  This does not surprise me since they are always up to something but I never see it coming until it is all laid out in my face.

While I did enjoy the book, the more I think about it the more I felt that things were not wrapped up as tightly as in previous books.  It was a good book and I am glad that I read it but I wish that it didn’t feel like such a filler book.  It is very unclear as to where the story is going or if it is going anywhere at all.  

My Rating

3 of 5 stars.
*I purchased this book and all opinions are my own.

1 Comment

Filed under 3 stars, book review, Books

One response to “Review: Dead Reckoning by Charlaine Harris

  1. Totally agree with you! I'm reading this one now and can understand and agree with just about everything you're saying. I read the books long before the HBO series! Heck I even remember when Charlaine came to my city to briefly mention them and it was still awhile before the show took off and then I had to wait for the DVDs since I don't have HBO, but that's neither here nor there like you said.

    What I miss most about the series is the mystery. They originally started out as The Southern Vampire Novels then around the 5th or 6th book that changed. No longer is “Southern Vampire Mystery” on the cover anymore. I miss that. There was always some sort of mystery to solve. A murder or someone betraying someone. Evil plotting and what not.

    But still, I'm likely going to stick it out to the end since I've hung around this long. Can only hope things end neatly.

    Totally understand the vamp politics and Faery fiascoes. I don't always fully comprehend those either! 🙂

    My review will be up tomorrow some time if you wanted to see it! I hope to finish the book soon!

Leave a Reply

