Booking Through Thursday

btt button
In contrast to last week’s question–What do you think of censoring books BECAUSE of their intended age? Say, books too “old” for your kids to read?

This question is much tougher than last week.  I think that this depends a lot of the “child” themselves.  I think that there are kids out there that can handle any level of book because of their maturity level and there are others that can’t.  This is also the reason why I think that that it is very important the parents play an active role in what books their kids are reading and that if there are difficult topics that the child knows they are welcome to ask questions and discuss the topics.  I do not believe in overall censoring rather specific to the child.

What about you?
9 Comments

Filed under Booking Through Thursday, Books

9 responses to “Booking Through Thursday

  1. Great answer. You're right a lot of it depends on the maturity of the child. I also believe that it's important that parents play a role in their child's reading. It definitely encourages them and it's something they can do together.

  2. Your right this is a personal question. I agree, as a child I didn't have any restrictions on what I could read or watch (the only exception was Benny Hill LOL and I snuck and watched it anyway).

  3. Funny thing is, once one of my children suggests a book, I've found they are pretty much ready for it — even if I didn't realize it. 🙂

  4. I agree that it should be up to the parents if they are going to restrict what a child reads.

  5. A lot depends on the age of the child and the content of the book.

  6. Yeah we do pretty much agree. I have feeling when we have kids this will be a big discussion in our house…

  7. Great answer I totally agree. Parents and the the children themselves are the best judges.
    Sally.
    http://theelifylop.blogspot.com/2011/05/booking-through-thursday-18.html

  8. FBT

    I completely agree.

Leave a Reply

