Review: 13 Little Blue Envelopes By Maureen Johnson

13 Little Blue Envelopes

Overview – 

13 Little Blue Envelopes

Product Details

  • Pub. Date: September 2006
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Format: Paperback , 317pp
  • Sales Rank: 19,252
  • Age Range: Young Adult

Synopsis

Inside little blue envelope 1 are $1,000 and instructions to buy a plane ticket.
In envelope 2 are directions to a specific London flat.
The note in envelope 3 tells Ginny: Find a starving artist.
Because of envelope 4, Ginny and a playwright/thief/ bloke–about–town called Keith go to Scotland together, with somewhat disastrous–though utterly romantic–results. But will she ever see him again?
Everything about Ginny will change this summer, and it’s all because of the 13 little blue envelopes.

My Thoughts


Okay, so I need to get this out of my system before I start writing my review, I really liked this book!  Such a fun story and so very different from the other YA that I have read.

Ginny gets a little blue envelope that lays out some crazy rules, buy a plane ticket to Europe, take only 1 backpack, no additional money, and NO contact of any kind with those States side.  She is go to the Chinese restaurant below her aunt’s former apartment in NYC pick up a package and get on the plane.  As crazy as it is, she gets the package and gets on the plane after hours of restless travel she opens the package to find 12 little blue envelopes.  She opens #2 which gives her directions to her first challenge.  The oddest part of the this whole hunt is that her aunt has been dead for three months.  

Ginny is in for challenges she never thought she dreamed she would faced with.  She is alone in a foreign country following the envelope challenge of a dead women who left her when she really needed her.

My favorite part of this book it is that of a discovery of who Ginny really is and just how far outside her comfort zone she is willing to be pushed  She will meet quite a few interesting people and might just fall into a relationship.  She will lose everything before realizing that means she has won everything and more.  

This was a nice simple read good for even young YA reads and it a really clean well written book.  Self discovery is a strong message and done very well in 13 Little Blue Envelopes.  

My Rating


4 of 5 stars – I really liked this book and can’t wait to read the next.  I really want to know what happen with Ginny from here.
*I purchased this book and all opinions are my own.

1 Comment

Filed under 4 Stars, book, book review, YA

One response to “Review: 13 Little Blue Envelopes By Maureen Johnson

  1. Thanks for the review. I got this one free on Amazon and have been waiting to read it until I get my NetGalley books done. I'm glad to hear that it was a good read!

Leave a Reply

