Booking Through Thursday

btt button
All things being equal (money, space, etc), would you rather own copies of the books you read? Or borrow them?

Lisa’s Answer

This is no thinking about this one for me.  I would rather own copies for a few different reasons.  One I am pretty tough on my books.  When I borrow books, it stresses me out because I have to be so careful with them.  I am a spine breaker and dog earer.  It is just who I am.  I love seeing them on my shelves and really want covers in a series to match.  

David’s Answer

I would want to own them so that I can go back and reread the books.  

What about you guys?  Leave us a link or a comment. 

13 Comments

Filed under Booking Through Thursday, Books

13 responses to “Booking Through Thursday

  1. Good answer! I can understand why you'd want to own them.

    Here's my answer!

  2. I like both of your reasons for owning…those are akin to my reasons for owning, and here are some others at MY THURSDAY MEMES POST

  3. I'm more of a borrower, but i buy the books I really love.

    My BTT post.

  4. I would definitely prefer owning my books. I love being surrounded by my books. When the time comes I do donate many of them to my local library.

  5. Lisa, it's good that you treat your borrowed books well! My family has quite an extensive library, and sometimes we lend out books to friends. The problem is, some of these books don't even come back to us! It's sad the way some people treat borrowed books.

  6. Having your own books, you don't have to worry too much about when and in what condition they are in.

    http://tributebooksmama.blogspot.com/2011/06/booking-through-thursday_09.html

  7. I am all for selective hoarding. I already own more than 2500 books!

    Here is my BTT: Own or Borrow post!

  8. FBT

    I agree with wanting to own the same cover in a series – or actually, I've been thinking of buying the Twilight Saga in the white cover simply because they look so nice.

    I love breaking spines as well, but I hate dog ears.

  9. I'm an owner for sure! I love seeing shelves overflowing with books. Being able to have people come in and instantly see your love for books. Being able to love out your favorite make get other people hooked. Having that favorite series sitting there in matching hardback covers….sigh. I'm definitely a book collector 🙂

  10. This is where I become a hoarder. I would rather own them. I'll eventually give some up and take them to a used bookstore for someone else to love but I might want to re-read something!

  11. Ouch! “spine breaker' and “dog earer” – I'm one of those who are really careful with books, so I kind of shuddered a little, sorry! 🙂

    Here's my Own or Borrow? (Booking Through Thursday) post!

Leave a Reply

