Booking Through Thursday

btt button
With the advent (and growing popularity) of eBooks, I’m seeing more and more articles about how much “better” they can be, because they have the option to be interactive … videos, music, glossaries … all sorts of little extra goodies to help “enhance” your reading experience, rather like listening to the Director’s commentary on a DVD of your favorite movie.
How do you feel about that possibility? Does it excite you in a cutting-edge kind of way? Or does it chill you to the bone because that’s not what reading is ABOUT?

Great question! I think that it is probably a good thing that I have a deadline this morning and need to head to work or I might have a very very long answer for this one.  First let me say that I do enjoy ebooks for the convenience of being able to carry one “book sized” object and not a bunch of books around.  Excellent for vacation and for lunch break at work.  People used to laugh at me because no matter where I was I could pull a book out of my purse.  That being said, I still prefer a really book over an ebook something about the interaction I have with it and such.  I love the feel of a real book.  

Now that I got that out of my system, the answer to the question is I hate the idea of all of the cutting edge stuff.  This is not what reading is about for me.  For me it is about using my own imagination to make the story work.  When I read, it is very much like a movie playing in my head.  It makes me work and keep my brain active.  If I wanted the movie and music and stuff, I would watch a movie.  Or television.  Too much other stuff takes away from the authors intent in writing.

The one feature that I do love about my nook is that it has a dictionary.  I am a context reader so I can figure out pretty much what a word means but I like the ability to look one up if I really need to know exactly what it mean.  So much easier that pulling my dictionary out. 

So long and short of e-books for me is I like the convenience but don’t need the bell and whistles.

Now please share your thoughts!!
8 Comments

Filed under Booking Through Thursday, Books

8 responses to “Booking Through Thursday

  1. I think it's important for us to be able to pick and choose which features (or advances) work for us. Here's MY THURSDAY MEMES POST

  2. Yes! That is how I feel. I have, as you know from my comment, a Kindle. I love it. I find I am actually reading more now, simply because of the convenience. If nothing else, purchasing books is waaaaaay easier. But, for example, I do not have any of the “apps” on my Kindle as I do on my iPad for instance. That's not what my “book” is about. And I do not care for the highly interactive whatevers they put in some books. I just want to read it. Like you, books are where my imagination can get really good exercise, books are an escape and a sanctuary for me. I agree with you, if I wanted to watch a movie, I'd get a DVD or Netflicks going. Thank you for your comment over on my WordPress. Happy reading!

  3. I don't have an eReader and I don't think I'll be getting one anytime soon due to its costs, but I quite like the idea of getting to pick from a whole bunch of books from a book-sized, flat gadget.

  4. FBT

    Your last line sums it up perfectly.

  5. I'm just like you, playing a movie in my head while I read, so I totally agree. I don't have an e-reader yet. but I I had it, I wouldn't want any extra features, just reading.

  6. I agree with Lisa, If I had an e-reader, I wouldn't want any extra features, just reading.

  7. I'm a context reader too, and will admit that I used to LOVE my Pb and HC's, but since ereaders make my life so much easier I will say that I love them more currently. I still collect certain series in Deadtree format, but most often you will find me on my kindle or etouch nook 😛

  8. I never thought I would like an ereader, but I have to confess? I am addicted to mine! Since getting my reader I have not read an actual book in months! I will still read actual books though. My thing is? If I read a book that I absoulutely LOVE, I will still buy the hardcover to add to my collection. I kinda wish my reader had a dictionary too, but I do have a hardcover of that! I don't really know what it is that I love so much about my reader, but it is nice to have something compact to hold without the hand cramping! I am not an overly techie person, but I love my reader and could not live without it now!

Leave a Reply

