Booking Through Thursday!

btt button
What’s the largest your personal library has ever been? What’s the greatest number of books you’ve ever owned at one time? (Estimates are fine.)
Is your collection NOW the biggest it’s ever been? Or have you down-sized?
What’s the fewest number of books you’ve ever owned (not counting your pre-reading years)?


Well, I am sure that our library is the biggest it has ever been now.  My husband and I quit counting at 1,000 books and there were many many more to be counted.  We have always joked that the biggest investment we have is in books.  My husband rereads a lot so we have multiple copies of a lot of his books.  We have not downsized though I do share more than before and hope they get returned.

I am sure the smallest number we have ever had was when we first got married.  Both of us brought books from before but I would wager we probably had about 100.

What about you? 


14 Comments

Filed under Booking Through Thursday, Books

14 responses to “Booking Through Thursday!

  1. My library is actually pretty small since I do most of my reading through the library. But once my husband finishes all his medical training and gets a real job, I plan on buying lots of books 🙂

  2. I was surprised by my numbers…I thought there might be more. Here's MY BTT POST

  3. Kristy Powers

    That is a LOT of books! Quite an uphill climb from 100. I just love acquiring books but have to put a rather strict limit on it due to space, money, etc. The library feeds my addiction!

    Here's my BTT answer: http://schooloutofschool.blogspot.com/2011/06/booking-through-thursday-size-matters.html

  4. Come to think about it, books is a good investment. You can pass them on to your children or you can resell them.

  5. I'm trying to cut down on the number of books I keep. Very tricky!

    Ubiquitous…that's books for me…Booking Through Thursday: Size Matters.

  6. When we got married, my husband wasn't really a reader, he is now. I think he is on a personal crusade to read the books in the house. At the moment he is re-reading all the George RR Martin books. My only wish about my books is that they could be a little bit lighter when I try to rearrange them again. http://unicornslaststand.blogspot.com/

  7. A nice size library! I have no clue about my highest count. I do know I am under 400 at present.

  8. Oh my! That's a lot of books! I would venture to guess that the books are probably the biggest investment for my husband and I as well!

  9. I feel like such an underachiever. Everyone else has so many books compared to me!

    Here’s my response: http://femalebookreader.blogspot.com/2011/06/book-math-time.html

  10. Yeah, my library is massive right now. My kids' is also absurd. But you know, we all read so much. And well…I guess I'd rather have books than clothes (new ones, that is, I'm not a nudist!)

  11. My library is just too huge and I even hate to talk about it. LOL

  12. Wow! That IS a world of books!

Leave a Reply

